YES! When you leave your organization, you will no longer have access to the Wickr Pro network that the organization administers. You will either be doing one of two things:
- Not joining another Wickr Pro network (Use it privately as an individual)
- Joining another Wickr Pro network (Joining another company that uses Wickr Pro)
1.1 Not Joining another Wickr Pro network
You can still install and use Wickr Me. This is a free product with limited functionality but enables you to still communicate securely with your contacts. Your contacts from your company’s pro network will NOT be able to be transferred to your ME account. However, if you know the persons email AND their network has federation turned on, you will be able to find them and communicate. You can install Wickr ME from your devices app store or by visiting here from your Windows, Mac, or Linux desktop.
1.2 Joining another Wickr Pro network
If you are moving to another company that uses Wickr Pro, you can leave your application installation on your devices. You will NOT have your old company contacts, rooms, on messages, but you won’t have to re-install the application on your devices. Your new company administrator will add you as a user and you will get and email with instructions.
- Before following the instructions of your new company invitation in email,
- Log out of Wickr Pro from any device.
- At the login screen select “Reset your device”
- Follow the instruction in your new invitation email, remembering you don’t have to re-install the application.
You may be working for an organization that has a controlled distribution of the application either through mobile device software or a private enterprise build on an app store. In those scenarios, you will need to fully uninstall the Wickr Pro application from your devices and follow your company’s installation guide. Always consult with your new company’s IT/support first!